Friday, October 31, 2014

Cover Wars!: Please vote for Hunger Moon

Hunger Moon is entered in the October cover wars on The Masquerade Crew blog. Please drop by to vote! You'll have my eternal gratitude and many virtual cookies! 
(And you can vote daily!)

Friday, October 24, 2014

Cover Reveal: Kilts Ablaze by Melissa Snark (#1 in the Blazing Kilts of Scottish Firemen series)


KILTS ABLAZE
Genre: Historical Scottish Firemen Romance

Cover Artiste: Farah Evers Designs

The heat is on...

Book 1 in the Blazing Kilts of Scottish Firemen series is sure to be the hottest historical Scottish firemen romance read of the year.

English bastards raped and murdered Angus Wallace's secret child bride. Despite the trauma, he recovered. Three months later, he married the real love of his life, Mollie, a plaid seamstress from Dublin.

One evening their Scottish terrier ran away. Angus went out to search for the little bugger. Tragedy struck when he got hit on the head by a rampaging livery. Rendered forgetful by amnesia, Angus took up a new life as a member of Fire Company 95.

Grief stricken, Mollie never recovered from her loss even though she adopted a new dog.

Haunted for years by images of spinning wheels and knitting needles, Angus begins a revolt and leads Scottish warriors against the cruel English tyrants who rule Scotland with an iron fist.

When Mollie's house catches fire, will Angus put down his mobile phone long enough to save her?


Excerpt: 
"Whaur is ma kilt, Mollie? A'm aff tae rammy fur Scotland's freedom fae they sassenach bastards!"

Mollie sobbed. "Oh, na, Angus! Please dinnae gang tae rammy th' sassenach bastards wha rule Scootlund wi' an iron fist! We've ainlie juist fun ilk ither again efter decades apairt. We ur twa beats o' th' identical hert, ye stubborn, idiotic man!" 

"I'm sorry, Mollie, bit afore god 'n' jimmy, ah hae tae gang rammy fur Scots freedom against thaim sassenach bastards wha rule Scootlund wi' an iron fist!" 

Mollie choked on her final sob. "Oh, gey weel then." 

"Just promise me yin final thing, wifie. Afore ah go." 

"Aye?"

"Promise me ye'll keep th' damn dug ben this time!" 

Trailer by Farah Evers Designs:



I owe a big thanks to Farah Evers for her help in putting this presentation together. The spectacular cover and brilliant book trailer are her genius. So thank you, Farah! I had a blast working on this with you.


Dialogue translation into Scottish is thanks to ScoTranslate.com

My Kind of Heroine Schedule

October 2014
She's sophisticated,
She's daring, 
She's...
My Kind of Heroine

Your favorite authors visit the Snarkology to discuss their most admired kinds of heroines or a particular heroine from their story.

Please take a moment to check out our fabulous guest schedule.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

My Kind of Heroine: My Daughter by Sydney Jane Baily #lovehistoricals #MFRWAuthor


I think I'm the last writer in this month’s themed Snarkology blog run about heroines. I'm honored to bring up the tail end. First, thanks to Melissa for hosting all of us this month and to the many writers from whom we’ve learned a lot about heroines.

Right now, my daughter is my heroine. She started college this past September at her number one choice for university, and then went right out and found a job a week or so after moving into her dorm. She intends to help pay for her tuition, and she has learned a new skill as a barista. Good grades, a good work ethic, and her eye on a promising future. What more could a proud mother ask for?


I also want to introduce you to my latest fictional heroine, Miss Josephine Holland, a self-made, independent lady. I tell her story in An Impassioned Redemption, which I dedicated to my daughter (though the similarities stop at the feisty personality and sharp intelligence). Jo is a partner in a successful saloon and bordello. She apologizes to no man for making money, especially for making it in a way that is frowned upon by more polite society and particularly by her own gender in the late 1880s.


Cayce Poponea's Shamrocks & Secrets @CPoponea #Romance

Shamrocks & Secrets
by Cayce Poponea
Publication Date: October 2014
Cover Design: Mayhem Cover Creations

Synopsis

Event planning, dealing with demanding clients and defusing situations before they get out of hand are all in a days work for Christi O'Rourke. But when a mystery man seems to appear at every turn will she have the ability to handle him as well?

Power and wealth are staples in the world of Patrick Malloy. But when family obligations dictate his future, a future involving a certain spirited young woman, will Patrick have what it takes to win her heart or will his lifestyle place her in more danger than he ever dreamed of?


Wednesday, October 22, 2014

My Kind of Heroine: The Heroine's Quest Suz DeMello #romance #MFRWAuthor @MFRW_ORG #strongwomen






When I started to write fiction, I really didn’t have any themes in mind. I just wanted a creative outlet and after I discovered romance writing, knew I’d found the artistic fulfillment I’d craved for decades.

I studied writing for years, formally in writing classes taken at a local community college, and then more casually, by reading many books on craft and attending innumerable writing seminars and workshops.
  
I was introduced to refined craft topics such as theme, symbolism and subtext, but was mystified at how to weave them artfully into my writing without being too highfalutin’ or obscure.

Sex, Love & Aliens Beachwalk Press Anthology Volume 1 #Romance #Giveaway



Genre: Science Fiction/Futuristic Romance

Buy Links:  
 Beachwalk Press   
 Amazon  
 Barnes & Noble  

Sex, Love, and Aliens. A science-fiction anthology, which includes:

Tangled Webs by Imogene Nix
In the course of a single day Gia Montgomery loses her job and discovers that her boyfriend—now ex-boyfriend—is a two-timing sleaze. After downing a bottle of wine, she catches sight of Cedun in her backyard. He's the Ba'Tua heir who has been living on Earth for several years. Gia struggles to ignore the strong attraction between them, because she's sure he's seeing someone else. Someone very close to her, in fact.

When the situation with her ex turns nasty, Cedun finally has a chance to set things straight between himself and Gia, but nothing is as simple as it seems. Cedun must protect Gia and sort out an impossible love-life tangle before it's too late.

Content Warning: this title contains sexy aliens and feisty heroines, together with enough action—of every kind—to keep readers on the edge of their seats

Tangled Webs Excerpt:

Book review: A HIGHLANDER'S OBSESSION by Vonnie Davis

Publisher:  Random House Loveswept

Date Published: August 19th

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Word Count: 85,600

In the vein of Jennifer Ashley’s Shifters Unbound series and Shelly Laurenstonï’s Pride Stories, Vonnie Davis introduces two wandering souls who discover that true love needs no words in this explosive, fantastical novel. Able to telepathically communicate with animals, Paisley Munro has found meaning in her so-called gifts by working as a veterinary assistant. But while traveling to Scotland for a relative’s funeral, Paisley fears that she really has lost her mind. Out in the highlands, she hears distinctly human thoughts coming from a wild bear. Terrified and desperate, she returns to the lodge and collapses in the powerful arms of its owner, a mysterious man with whom she shares a simmering attraction. Creighton Matheson and his fellow shape-shifters have been roaming this land freely for centuries. Now Paisley’s grandma may inherit his home, putting his kind in grave danger. His mistrust only deepens when he realizes Paisley can read his mind. Yet he cannot deny that this tantalizing woman makes him burn with desire and hunger for the prospect of a tender love. Now Creighton must decide which would hurt more: revealing the truth or losing Paisley forever.


Buy links:
Amazon 
Barnes and Noble

Review by Melissa Snark:  

Vonnie Davis is a modern-day bard of romance. Her mastery of writing mechanics is sublime, elevated to such a high standard that I don't have anything to say about it. I just didn't notice. All of my observations and reactions are based on the actual story itself. I'm well read in the PNR genre and A HIGHLANDER'S OBSESSION offers a unique take on the bear shifter genre.

#Snarkyreads: A Twitter Review of A HIGHLANDER'S OBSESSION chapters 23-25

My Twitter commentary on Chapters 1-9 of A HIGHLANDER'S OBSESSION can be found here.

Chapters 10-13 are here.

Chapters 14-16 are here.

Chapters 17-22 are here.

Disclaimer: Vonnie Davis didn't request a Twitter review and I didn't ask. (It's always easier to apologize than ask permission.)


Tuesday, October 21, 2014

My Kind of Heroine: Spunky, Clever, Brave by Beth Barany #Giveaway #yafantasy #amreading



Beth is sponsoring an ebook giveaway so be sure to comment for a chance to win one of her published titles!

I like heroines who are spunky, kind, and know how to have fun. I like the clever ones too. I just finished reading fantasy novel The Fall of Ventaris, book two in the series, by Neil McGarry and Daniel Ravipinto, featuring Duchess of the Shallows, also the name of book one in the series. Duchess is clever, determined, and creative, and not afraid to take risks.

The heroines I admire come in several flavors. I like ordinary women who are gutsy and know what they want in their lives and go for it. Then during their ordinary life, they get surprised by love. They think they are so strong and tough, and can handle life by themselves. And they can, to an extent. But really, life is better together. Life is better with love. Yep, these are the kind of love stories I like to write. I have four of these romances in the form of sweet paranormal novellas in stand-alone books, yet are also a connected series. If you want to read them in order, here's the list:
  1. Touchstone of Love (July 2013)
  2. A Christmas Fling (December 2013)
  3. Parisian Amour (May 2014)
  4. A Labyrinth of Love and Roses (Sept 2014)
The list is here too: http://author.bethbarany.com/romance/.